Skip to Content

What is the eligibility criteria for JEE?

What is the eligibility criteria for JEE?

Exam for Joint Admissions For admission to several undergraduate programmes in architecture and engineering, the Main or JEE Main national level entrance examination will be held. This entrance exam also serves as a practise test for JEE Advanced, the final exam required to be admitted to an IIT.

Because of the broad breadth of this entrance exam, thousands of students apply each year to vie for the few places available in prestigious engineering and architecture universities.

It is critical that they maintain themselves informed about other important parts of the exam, such as JEE Main eligibility criteria, exam documents, and so on, in addition to their committed preparation for the exam.

JEE Main Eligibility Criteria

The JEE Main exam is held twice a year, between the months of January and April. However, due to the epidemic, the JEE Mains schedule may be altered.

The exam application form includes a list of qualifying requirements that must be met before hopefuls may sit for this engineering and architecture entrance exam. It is important to realise, however, that these criteria do not guarantee admission to prestigious universities. The final decision on admission is made based on the results of the JEE Main and Advanced exams.

  1. JEE Main Eligibility Norms
  • Applicant’s Age- The JEE Main upper limit is not defined. Candidates must, however, be at least 10 years old and have completed 10+2 or equivalent exams to be eligible for this entry. Candidates who are taking their 10+2 test in 2021 are also eligible to take this exam, regardless of their age.
  • Applicant’s Qualifications- When applying for this entry, aspirants must have completed their 10+2 or equivalent test. This test is also open to students who are taking their 10+2 exams.
  • Compulsory Subject- Since this admission test is used to help students gain admission to B. Tech/B.E. or B. Arch programmes, there are a few subjects that all candidates must have in their 10+2 examinations.
  1. B.Tech/B.E.: Physics, Maths, Chemistry, Biotechnology, Biology, Technical/Vocational Subjects, Languages, and any other subject
  2. PCM is required for B. Arch and B.Plan students- Physics, Math (required), Chemistry/technical vocational subject/biology/biotechnology/Language/any other topic
  • Qualifying exam score- For the general category, a minimum of 75 per cent in aggregate or being in the top 20%ile in their 10+2 examination is required, and for the SC/ST/PWD category, a minimum of 65 per cent in aggregate is required.
  1. JEE Main Eligibility Criteria for Dropouts

There are two types of students who drop out of JEE Main:

Candidates who failed to qualify for the JEE Main last year will take the exam again this year.

Students who completed their 10+2 the previous year took a year off to prepare for the JEE Main exam, which they would take this year.

The National Testing Agency (NTA) released a list of JEE Main eligibility requirements for droppers.

  • Age- Previously, the upper age limit for JEE Mains eligibility was 25 years. However, a Supreme Court announcement stated that the JEE Mains will no longer have an upper age limit.
  • Qualifications- As a basic requirement, candidates must have finished their 10+2 or equivalent test.
  • Minimum Qualifying Score- A minimum of 75 per cent in total or being in the top 20% le in their 10+2 examination is necessary for the general class, and a least of 65 per cent overall is necessary for the SC/ST/PWD category.
  1. Amount of Attempts

Candidates can take the JEE Main exam a maximum of three times in a row. Droppers who have previously appeared in the entry and failed to clear it may now sit for it twice more. They must, however, make three consecutive tries, failing which they will not be permitted to appear.

Because this exam is held twice a year, in two sessions – January and April – the admission process for one academic session is considered a single try.

  1. A few other Eligibility Criteria

Multiple adjustments to the qualifying criteria of this entrance have been made as a result of the transition in the conducting body of JEE from CBSE to NTA.

  • No importance given to class 12 marks– The class 12 results are only valid for the JEE Main qualifying examination. The marks from 10+2 will not be taken into account when computing the All India Rank of JEE Main.
  • Aadhar Card is important- To sit for this national level engineering and architecture entrance exam, aspirants from this country must have their Aadhaar Card. In addition, overseas applicants must bring their passports with them when taking the test.
  • Applicant’s from a few states get special provisions– To sit for JEE Main 2021 in a few states, such as Assam, Meghalaya, and Jammu & Kashmir, aspirants must supply the following information:
  1. Account number at a bank
  2. The number on the passport
  3. Any official ID number, such as a ration card.
  4. They’d also have to pick certain cities in their states to hold their exams in.
  1. Eligibility Criteria for International Students-

Both national and foreign candidates meet the JEE Main 2021 eligibility requirements. As a result, overseas applicants do not need to meet any additional prerequisites. For international students, however, a passing certificate from an AIU recognised board for Class 12 or equivalent test is required.

  1. Format of JEE mains paper

Paper 1 (B.E/B.Tech) and Paper 2 (M.E/M.Tech) are the two papers of the JEE Mains test (B.Arch or B.Plan).

Except for the Drawing test for B.Arch, both papers are held in an online computer-based mode (due to Covid-19). In paper 1, each topic has 20 multiple-choice questions (MCQs) and 10 numeric questions, with just 5 of the 10 mandatories. Students should review the JEE Main 2019 Question Paper with Solutions in advance to learn about the number of sections and questions, question types, and marking scheme, among other things.


To prevent having their JEE Main application form rejected, aspirants should read through and understand the eligibility criteria for JEE Main. All of the standards must be met by engineering applicants. After passing the JEE Main exam, qualified students will be able to enrol in B.Tech, B.E, B.Arch, and Integrated MSc programmes at prominent engineering colleges such as NITs and IIITs.